TO:                        All Members of VIU Faculty Association

FROM:                 VIUFA Elections Committee: Jeff Egan, Don Alexander, Don Bowden

DATE:                   Wednesday, March 10, 2021

RE:                        NOMINATIONS FOR 2021/22 EXECUTIVE MEMBERS

As per VIUFA’s Constitution and Bylaws, an Elections Committee has been appointed by the Executive to receive nominations for officers for the term May 1, 2021 to April 30, 2022.  Election of officers will take place at the Annual General Meeting (“AGM”) on Wednesday, April 28, 2021.  Balloting will begin at 12:30 p.m.

The following offices are to be filled:

OFFICE Current Release Proposed Release*
President 4 sections

(2 VIUFA/2 Admin)

4 sections

(2 VIUFA/2 Admin)

Vice-President 1 section 1 section
Secretary-Treasurer 2 sections 2 sections
Chief Personnel Steward 4 sections 4 sections
Chair, Contract Negotiating Committee 2 sections 2 sections
Associate Bargainer 1 section 1 section
Chair, Professional & Scholarly Development Committee 0 0
Chair, Human Rights & International Solidarity Committee 1 section 1 section
Chair, Status of Women Committee 1 section 1 section
Chair, University Budget Analysis Committee 1 section 1 section
Chair, Decolonization, Reconciliation, and Indigenization Standing Committee 1 section 1 section
FPSE Workplace Health, Safety & Environment Representative 0 0
FPSE Education Policy Representative 0 0
FPSE Disability Management & Rehabilitation Representative 2 sections 2 sections
Non-Instructional Faculty Rep 0 0
Member at Large 0 0

Please see the Terms of Reference for information on the duties of each executive member.

*All releases are subject to ratification of the budget at the AGM.

Only members of the Faculty Association may submit nominations, be nominated, and vote at the AGM.  Nominations should be made on the nomination form and returned electronically to by Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 3:00 pm in order that a slate of nominees may be circulated to members in advance of the AGM.  Nominations may also be made from the floor of the AGM.

Four members will be appointed at the AGM to form the SALARY PLACEMENT APPEALS COMMITTEE.